European Coins
Making your coin collection richer...

Welcome to the European Coins Web Site!

This web site brings rare (mostly) Centeral European Coins to the collections of US, Canada, Chinese and other coin collectors. This web site is oriented mainly on Austro-Hungarian Empire and post-Austro-Hungarian countries which came into existence after the end of World War I in 1918.


Coins of the Austro-Hungarian Empire


Austro-Hungarian Empire (in German: Österreich-Ungarn; in Hungarian: Osztrák–Magyar Monarchia) was a constitutional union of the co-equal Empire of Austria and the Kingdom of Hungary which came into existence in 1867. 

Austria-Hungary was ruled by the House of Habsburg. Fisrt by famous Francis Joseph I (Franz Josef I.) and in the second half of the First World War (1916 - 1918) by Charles I & IV. 

Austro-Hungarian Empire collapsed in 1918 as a result of defeat in the First World War


Czechoslovak Circulated and Commemorative Coins


Czechoslovakia (Československo) was a sovereign state in Central Europe that existed from 28 October 1918 (when it declared its independence on the Austro-Hungarian Empire) until 1 January 1993, when it was dissolved into the Czech Republic and Slovak Republic. 

During the Second World War, parts of Czechoslovakia were forcefully incorporation into the Third Reich (Nazi Germany). At that time, Czechoslovakia as a state did not in fact exist. However, its government-in-exile continued to operate from London and Washington. 

After WW2, Czechoslovakia got under the sphere of influcence of the communistic Soviet Union (yet Czechoslovakia never was part of the Soviet Union) where it remained until 1989.



Denominated coins for Austria (Vienna mint) were as follows: 1, 2, 10 and 20 Heller; 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 100 Corona.

Denominated coins for Hungary (Kremnica mint): 1, 2, 10 and 20 Fillér; 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 100 Korona.



After declaring its independence from the Austro-Hungarian Empire, Czechoslovakia started emitting its own currency - the Czechoslovak Koruna (Crown): 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 Haléřů; 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 Korun. Along with the Czechoslovakian Crown, the former Austro-Hungarian currency remained widely used for trade.